Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as THE BEACON LEARNING CENTRE
$1,306,853
$1,407,386
It spent $100,533 more than it took in, drawing down the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $1.1M | $1.0M |
| 2018549-day period | $805K | $547K |
| 2019 | $1.2M | $1.1M |
| 2020 | $811K | $614K |
| 2021 | $1.2M | $918K |
| 2022 | $1.3M | $1.3M |
| 2023 | $1.4M | $1.3M |
| 2024 | $1.3M | $1.4M |
The period marked above (2018) did not cover about twelve months. A charity that changes its fiscal year end files a shorter or longer transitional return, so a figure for that period is smaller or larger because of its length — not because the charity did less or more.
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | $1,407,386 | 100.0% |
| Management and administration | 5010 | Not reported | — |
| Fundraising | 5020 | Not reported | — |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $1,407,386 |
This charity did not report management and administration and fundraising figures. That is not the same as zero. Only one charity in five reports a fundraising figure at all, and the return does not require it.
The Beacon Learning Centre reported spending 100.0% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 8,947 charities registered under organizations relieving poverty that reported the same line for 2024, the middle of the range is 89.0%, and this charity sits at the 90th percentile — above 90% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Canadian charities report how many of their ten highest-paid positions fall in each pay band. Not who they are, and not what any one person earns — the return does not collect that, and it cannot be worked out from what follows.
10 positions reported in total.
| Permanent full-time positions | 300 | 29 |
|---|---|---|
| Part-time or part-year employees | 370 | 14 |
| Total spent on all compensation | 390 | $1,151,774 |
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. The Beacon Learning Centre files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | $40,000 |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | $1,407,386 |
| Difference | 865 | $1,367,386 above the quota |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 106779770 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.