Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as BRANDON UNIVERSITY
$76,342,473
$77,314,420
It spent $971,947 more than it took in, drawing down the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $64.5M | $61.5M |
| 2018 | $66.6M | $63.6M |
| 2019 | $68.3M | $64.1M |
| 2020 | $71.2M | Not reported |
| 2021 | $67.6M | $64.6M |
| 2022 | $78.2M | $66.2M |
| 2023 | $71.4M | $69.2M |
| 2024 | $76.3M | $77.3M |
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | $72,148,480 | 93.3% |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $3,958,700 | 5.1% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | $1,207,240 | 1.6% |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $77,314,420 |
Brandon University reported spending 93.3% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 2,574 charities registered under teaching institutions that reported the same line for 2024, the middle of the range is 89.0%, and this charity sits at the 66th percentile — above 66% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Canadian charities report how many of their ten highest-paid positions fall in each pay band. Not who they are, and not what any one person earns — the return does not collect that, and it cannot be worked out from what follows.
10 positions reported in total.
| Permanent full-time positions | 300 | 443 |
|---|---|---|
| Part-time or part-year employees | 370 | 294 |
| Total spent on all compensation | 390 | $53,276,507 |
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. Brandon University files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | Not reported |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | Not reported |
| Difference | 865 | Not reported |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 106806789 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.