Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as GIRLS INCORPORATED OF DURHAM
$1,116,950
$1,046,551
It took in $70,399 more than it spent, and retained the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $640K | $608K |
| 2018 | $779K | $724K |
| 2019 | $888K | $813K |
| 2020 | $861K | $721K |
| 2021 | $866K | $793K |
| 202290-day period | $133K | $166K |
| 2023 | $1.1M | $1.0M |
| 2024 | $1.1M | $1.0M |
The period marked above (2022) did not cover about twelve months. A charity that changes its fiscal year end files a shorter or longer transitional return, so a figure for that period is smaller or larger because of its length — not because the charity did less or more.
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | $937,101 | 89.5% |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $109,450 | 10.5% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | Not reported | — |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $1,046,551 |
This charity did not report a fundraising figure. That is not the same as zero. Only one charity in five reports a fundraising figure at all, and the return does not require it.
Girls Incorporated of Durham reported spending 89.5% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 8,947 charities registered under organizations relieving poverty that reported the same line for 2024, the middle of the range is 89.0%, and this charity sits at the 52th percentile — above 52% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Canadian charities report how many of their ten highest-paid positions fall in each pay band. Not who they are, and not what any one person earns — the return does not collect that, and it cannot be worked out from what follows.
9 positions reported in total. The form asks only about the ten highest-paid, so a smaller number means the charity reported fewer compensated positions than that.
| Permanent full-time positions | 300 | 9 |
|---|---|---|
| Part-time or part-year employees | 370 | 42 |
| Total spent on all compensation | 390 | $762,872 |
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. Girls Incorporated of Durham files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | Not reported |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | $937,101 |
| Difference | 865 | $937,101 above the quota |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 118809268 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.