Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as NEWELL COMMUNITY ACTION GROUP (COMACT)
$2,295,161
$3,200,937
It spent $905,776 more than it took in, drawing down the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $2.1M | $2.2M |
| 2018 | $2.2M | $2.1M |
| 2019274-day period | $1.6M | $1.7M |
| 2020 | $2.3M | $3.2M |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2022 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
The period marked above (2019) did not cover about twelve months. A charity that changes its fiscal year end files a shorter or longer transitional return, so a figure for that period is smaller or larger because of its length — not because the charity did less or more.
No return is on file for 2021, 2022, 2023 and 2024. A charity can file late, or not at all in a year — this is a gap in the record, not a year of no activity.
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | Not reported | — |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $148,345 | 4.6% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | $3,183 | 0.1% |
| Not allocated to a line | $3,049,409 | 95.3% | |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $3,200,937 |
This charity did not report a charitable programs figure. That is not the same as zero. Only one charity in five reports a fundraising figure at all, and the return does not require it.
The reported lines do not add up to the total. The difference is spending the charity did not assign to any of them — the CRA return treats these lines as optional components of the total, not as a complete breakdown of it.
Newell Community Action Group (Comact) reported spending 80.0% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 8,782 charities registered under organizations relieving poverty that reported the same line for 2019, the middle of the range is 88.9%, and this charity sits at the 29th percentile — below 71% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Canadian charities report how many of their ten highest-paid positions fall in each pay band. Not who they are, and not what any one person earns — the return does not collect that, and it cannot be worked out from what follows.
This filing does not match the form. The bands add up to 34 positions, but they are supposed to describe only the ten highest-paid. Newell Community Action Group (Comact) appears to have reported its whole staff. No breakdown is shown, because any wording of it would be wrong.
This is a data-entry problem in the return, not a finding about the organisation.
| Permanent full-time positions | 300 | 34 |
|---|---|---|
| Part-time or part-year employees | 370 | 40 |
| Total spent on all compensation | 390 | $1,743,284 |
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 119054823 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.