Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as BIG ROCK SINGERS SOCIETY
$196,101
$158,249
It took in $37,852 more than it spent, and retained the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | $154K | $136K |
| 2019 | $135K | $171K |
| 2020 | $140K | $87K |
| 2021 | $78K | $60K |
| 2022 | $112K | $115K |
| 2023 | $117K | $155K |
| 2024 | $196K | $158K |
No return is on file for 2017. A charity can file late, or not at all in a year — this is a gap in the record, not a year of no activity.
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | $135,581 | 87.3% |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $457 | 0.3% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | $8,210 | 5.3% |
| Not allocated to a line | $11,001 | 7.1% | |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $155,249 |
The reported lines do not add up to the total. The difference is spending the charity did not assign to any of them — the CRA return treats these lines as optional components of the total, not as a complete breakdown of it.
It reported giving $3,000 to other qualified donees — registered charities and similar organisations. This sits outside the breakdown above, which covers the charity’s own spending. Line 5050.
Big Rock Singers Society reported spending 87.3% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 1,317 charities registered under education in the arts that reported the same line for 2024, the middle of the range is 84.4%, and this charity sits at the 57th percentile — above 57% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 714024528 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.