Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as GIBSONS MARINE RESCUE SOCIETY
$150,442
$98,247
It took in $52,195 more than it spent, and retained the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $76K | $179K |
| 2018 | $102K | $64K |
| 2019 | $189K | $104K |
| 2020 | $121K | $57K |
| 2021 | $69K | $52K |
| 2022 | $117K | $75K |
| 2023 | $107K | $78K |
| 2024 | $150K | $98K |
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | $67,292 | 68.5% |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $24,826 | 25.3% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | $5,429 | 5.5% |
| Not allocated to a line | $700 | 0.7% | |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $98,247 |
The reported lines do not add up to the total. The difference is spending the charity did not assign to any of them — the CRA return treats these lines as optional components of the total, not as a complete breakdown of it.
Gibsons Marine Rescue Society reported spending 68.5% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 271 charities registered under protective health care that reported the same line for 2024, the middle of the range is 90.0%, and this charity sits at the 27th percentile — below 73% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. Gibsons Marine Rescue Society files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | Not reported |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | Not reported |
| Difference | 865 | Not reported |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 810337311 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.