Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as HEALTH SCIENCES NORTH RESEARCH INSTITUTE
$9,266,113
$9,551,885
It spent $285,772 more than it took in, drawing down the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2019 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2020 | $9.2M | $9.2M |
| 2021 | $9.1M | $9.0M |
| 2022 | $13.6M | $10.4M |
| 2023 | $9.4M | $8.5M |
| 2024 | $9.3M | $9.6M |
No return is on file for 2017, 2018 and 2019. A charity can file late, or not at all in a year — this is a gap in the record, not a year of no activity.
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | $6,360,089 | 66.6% |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $3,191,796 | 33.4% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | Not reported | — |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $9,551,885 |
This charity did not report a fundraising figure. That is not the same as zero. Only one charity in five reports a fundraising figure at all, and the return does not require it.
Health Sciences North Research Institute reported spending 66.6% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 189 charities registered under research that reported the same line for 2024, the middle of the range is 85.6%, and this charity sits at the 24th percentile — below 76% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Canadian charities report how many of their ten highest-paid positions fall in each pay band. Not who they are, and not what any one person earns — the return does not collect that, and it cannot be worked out from what follows.
10 positions reported in total.
| Permanent full-time positions | 300 | 45 |
|---|---|---|
| Part-time or part-year employees | 370 | 11 |
| Total spent on all compensation | 390 | $5,395,593 |
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. Health Sciences North Research Institute files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | $349,678 |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | $6,360,089 |
| Difference | 865 | $6,010,411 above the quota |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 812668911 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.