Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as FONDATION UN GESTE POUR LA VIE
$36,327
$6,273
It took in $30,054 more than it spent, and retained the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $82K | $107K |
| 2018 | $64K | $60K |
| 2019 | $57K | $57K |
| 2020 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2021 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2022 | $5K | $10K |
| 2023 | $49K | $9K |
| 2024 | $36K | $6K |
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | Not reported | — |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $5,746 | — |
| Fundraising | 5020 | $522 | — |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $3,673 |
This filing does not add up. The reported components come to $6,268, more than the $3,673 total they are supposed to be part of, so no proportional breakdown is shown. The figures above are exactly as the charity filed them. This is a data-entry problem in the return, and not in itself a finding about the organisation.
This charity did not report a charitable programs figure. That is not the same as zero. Only one charity in five reports a fundraising figure at all, and the return does not require it.
It reported giving $2,600 to other qualified donees — registered charities and similar organisations. This sits outside the breakdown above, which covers the charity’s own spending. Line 5050.
Fondation Un Geste pour la Vie reported spending 51.8% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 2,990 charities registered under foundations that reported the same line for 2022, the middle of the range is 73.0%, and this charity sits at the 36th percentile — below 64% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. Fondation Un Geste pour la Vie files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | $4,336 |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | $2,600 |
| Difference | 865 | $1,736 below the quota |
Spending below the quota in one year is not a breach. The Income Tax Act lets a charity carry a disbursement excess forward for five years and back for one, so an organisation below the line this year may be drawing on an excess from an earlier one. The CRA can also grant permission to accumulate property, and the quota itself is calculated from a two-year average. None of that history is in this return, and this page is not a compliance finding.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 842024564 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.