Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as MARIANHILL FOUNDATION
$1,387,479
$2,104,005
It spent $716,526 more than it took in, drawing down the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $203K | $147K |
| 2018 | $151K | $293K |
| 2019 | $255K | $158K |
| 2020 | $89K | $23K |
| 2021 | $17K | $4K |
| 2022 | $221K | $9K |
| 2023 | $280K | $49K |
| 2024 | $1.4M | $2.1M |
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | Not reported | — |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $10,678 | 100.0% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | Not reported | — |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $10,678 |
This charity did not report charitable programs and fundraising figures. That is not the same as zero. Only one charity in five reports a fundraising figure at all, and the return does not require it.
It reported giving $2,093,327 to other qualified donees — registered charities and similar organisations. This sits outside the breakdown above, which covers the charity’s own spending. Line 5050.
Marianhill Foundation reported spending 0.6% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 302 charities registered under relief of the aged that reported the same line for 2023, the middle of the range is 85.7%, and this charity sits at the 2th percentile — below 98% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. Marianhill Foundation files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | $221,908 |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | $2,093,327 |
| Difference | 865 | $1,871,419 above the quota |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 873390595 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.