Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
$81,419,725
$28,803,042
It took in $52,616,683 more than it spent, and retained the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | $4.3M | $24.0M |
| 2018640-day period | -$2.0M | $10.1M |
| 2019 | -$23.7M | $8.9M |
| 2020 | -$52.7M | $5.4M |
| 2021 | $187.9M | $7.0M |
| 2022 | $5.6M | $13.9M |
| 2023 | $9.0M | $16.3M |
| 2024 | $81.4M | $28.8M |
The period marked above (2018) did not cover about twelve months. A charity that changes its fiscal year end files a shorter or longer transitional return, so a figure for that period is smaller or larger because of its length — not because the charity did less or more.
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | Not reported | — |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $284,957 | 100.0% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | Not reported | — |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $284,957 |
This charity did not report charitable programs and fundraising figures. That is not the same as zero. Only one charity in five reports a fundraising figure at all, and the return does not require it.
It reported giving $28,518,085 to other qualified donees — registered charities and similar organisations. This sits outside the breakdown above, which covers the charity’s own spending. Line 5050.
The Joyce Family Foundation reported spending 0.6% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 3,002 charities registered under foundations that reported the same line for 2020, the middle of the range is 73.5%, and this charity sits at the 4th percentile — below 96% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Canadian charities report how many of their ten highest-paid positions fall in each pay band. Not who they are, and not what any one person earns — the return does not collect that, and it cannot be worked out from what follows.
1 position reported in total. The form asks only about the ten highest-paid, so a smaller number means the charity reported fewer compensated positions than that.
| Permanent full-time positions | 300 | 1 |
|---|---|---|
| Total spent on all compensation | 390 | $158,450 |
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. The Joyce Family Foundation files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | $25,159,754 |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | $28,518,085 |
| Difference | 865 | $3,358,331 above the quota |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 888159266 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.