Loading this charity’s filing…
Loading this charity’s filing…
Registered as ROYAL CANADIAN LEGION OKOTOKS BRANCH POPPY FUND
$85,827
$86,694
It spent $867 more than it took in, drawing down the difference. Neither is good or bad on its own — charities hold reserves, run capital campaigns, and spend down endowments, and the return does not say which.
| Year | Money in | Money out |
|---|---|---|
| 2017 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 2018 | $74K | $51K |
| 2019 | $78K | $81K |
| 2020 | $75K | $58K |
| 2021 | $103K | $130K |
| 2022457-day period | $64K | $48K |
| 2023 | $87K | $51K |
| 2024 | $86K | $87K |
The period marked above (2022) did not cover about twelve months. A charity that changes its fiscal year end files a shorter or longer transitional return, so a figure for that period is smaller or larger because of its length — not because the charity did less or more.
No return is on file for 2017. A charity can file late, or not at all in a year — this is a gap in the record, not a year of no activity.
| What it went on | CRA line | Amount | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Charitable programs | 5000 | $26,220 | 75.6% |
| Management and administration | 5010 | $972 | 2.8% |
| Fundraising | 5020 | $0 | 0.0% |
| Not allocated to a line | $7,502 | 21.6% | |
| Total expenditures excluding gifts | 4950 | $34,694 |
The reported lines do not add up to the total. The difference is spending the charity did not assign to any of them — the CRA return treats these lines as optional components of the total, not as a complete breakdown of it.
It reported giving $52,000 to other qualified donees — registered charities and similar organisations. This sits outside the breakdown above, which covers the charity’s own spending. Line 5050.
Royal Canadian Legion Okotoks Branch Poppy Fund reported spending 75.6% of its expenditure on charitable programs. Among the 3,143 charities registered under foundations that reported the same line for 2024, the middle of the range is 71.5%, and this charity sits at the 53th percentile — above 53% of them.
That is a position in a distribution, not a verdict. Charities allocate costs differently on the same form, and a lower share often reflects how a return was filled in rather than how the money was spent. The cohort counts only charities that reported this line — about a quarter of the register does not, and they are not in the comparison at all.
Charities that hold significant property not used in their programs must spend a minimum amount each year — the disbursement quota. Royal Canadian Legion Okotoks Branch Poppy Fund files this schedule; most charities do not.
| Required to spend | 840 | $6,526 |
|---|---|---|
| Counted toward the quota | 860 | $78,220 |
| Difference | 865 | $71,694 above the quota |
Charities may also carry a disbursement excess forward for five years, so a single year is a slice of a longer calculation rather than the whole of it.
The most recent return this charity has filed — not its position today. Charities have six months to file and the CRA publishes annually.
These are the charity’s own figures. A surprising figure is at least as likely to be a filing error as a finding.
This site cannot confirm whether 892564964 RR 0001 is registered today. Its filings are public open data; current registration status is not, and the CRA’s own listing is the only authoritative source. Check this charity on the CRA Charities Listing.
Source: Canada Revenue Agency — List of charities (T3010). Data current as of 2024 filing year. Filed by the charity and not audited by the CRA. Contains information licensed under the Open Government Licence – Canada.